first loves interlude – ( a new attempt at poetry)

I had to see you, my first love,
I drove through the valleys of cows and fruit trees
By the birds and the grave yard of children
Beyond the green and around the bend,
I entered the blue and we met, at last.
The tempeture dropped but I couldn’t feel it
I was a blaze of fire at the idea of the sight of you
I stood like a child, vulnerable and scared
You seemed tormented and angry,
Not sure what to make of me after all this time.
I felt your touch as a chill cooled my flame
Instantly I was younger and pure.
I was engulfed in your coldness again
I was thrown around like a rag doll at your whim
You tormented me with your power
You cleansed me with your presence
Your grip made me love and hate you
Aware again, I stare longing at you my old lover.
Have you needed me too?
I beg you, “please touch me”
Obediently you tickle my ankles and nibble my toes,
I long for more.
I long for your salty kiss to consume me.
But, I’m scared
I have too much to lose and not enough strength
What a fool to think I could escape you once and try again
To brake through your layers, tame you with my love.
I’m invaded with memories of your touch once more.
Coming from behind and nibbling on my neck.
Parting my hair with crazed abandonment just to achieve a better taste
You left me wet with your hunger,
I am just your vulnerable pet.
Please don’t stop, I beg!
With a look you resend, letting go of my tortured ankles.
A chill comes over me as you leave and a thick fog surrounds me
I know it is over, I know I must go,
Heartbroken you’ve left me again,
When will I see you again?
Will you see me?

Written by LoLa

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 17:53:40

    Oh, WOW!!! This is really, really good. There’s so much going on in this poem. It touched me on so many levels. Very sensual and poignant. Keep writing!!

    Reply

  2. Emily Loren Moss Ferrell
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 02:55:27

    Intense LoLa, but I could expect no less from a girl filled with fire (and laughter 😉 Keep writing!! I agree with Sara. Some intense imagery.

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 12:34:31

    love this – want to read the next one 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jingle
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 08:45:55

    I will place this link in,

    in general, you comment under the post, past it beside your comment, then I place the link among other participants…

    Glad to have you share one of your favorite poems,
    have fun reading and visiting other poets.

    xx

    Reply

  5. Jingle
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 08:47:21

    You left me wet with your hunger,
    I am just your vulnerable pet.
    Please don’t stop, I beg!…

    bravo,
    you are honest and loving here,
    enjoyed the tense and heartfelt words…
    beautiful sentiments,
    lovely delivery.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 31 (October 21-27) | Jingle
  7. Trackback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 31 | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  8. velvethandcuffs
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 17:28:16

    Beautiful poem – I can really feel the emotion. I love the line, “You cleansed me with your presence” … it’s so the truth with the that one….

    Reply

  9. Leo (Leonnyes)
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 22:31:19

    sensual and touching.. true too.. first love like the sea 🙂 amazing!

    My Rally Entry is Here: http://leonnyes.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/nine-hundred/

    Reply

  10. tasithoughts
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 06:27:42

    I am filled with emotion. I am a guy but you got me…you got me…..perfect.

    JP

    Reply

  11. jgrow2
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 08:35:48

    Heavens LoLa! I had to read it a couple of times to drink in the imagery, and its many levels. Something new every time. I remember such crazed abandonment myself. Just gorgeous.

    Reply

  12. The Reason You Come
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 20:58:59

    First love never dies, I guess?

    The words of this poem are sexy! And visual; I can almost imagine what’s happening.

    Reply

  13. Jingle
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 06:45:33

    how are you?
    did you do your 18 poets visiting yet?

    I ask all poets the same question, hope you well…
    Glad to have you in,
    please do some visits if you are free…

    Reply

  14. Trackback: So Many New Poetry Flavors, Come To Try Them All | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  15. danroberson
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 16:29:48

    Oh, to be loved like that and have the power and/or anger to walk away. What is his problem? I was hooked from the start. Excellent!

    Reply

  16. LoLa
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 16:51:58

    Thank you everybody for all of your comments. I will never get over my first love. And I hope I never have too.
    LoLa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan