Rain on Me

Watching the leaves as rain spills off of them
hardly noticing the ones that bounce off my cheeks
my shirt slowly penetrates with wetness
as the storm clouds move slowly above
Birds are not chirping
Bees are not buzzing
The earth is soaked through
As the grey sky invades
Standing vigilant and unaware
I remain
Entranced by the drooping leaves
heavy with wetness
Ready for the fall
Sad thoughts overtake my heart
Dampness soaks my bare feet
today the rain brings no joy
Seeing only a wet leaf
That’s about to fall.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 31 (October 21-27) | Jingle
  2. Jingle
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 08:55:23

    I see wet rains on you..
    cool rain poem!
    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Morganna
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 17:54:38

    Wow. I think I’m getting wet over here. Nice job writing down the rain.

    Here from Jingle’s Thursday Poetry Rally.

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 20:58:31

    NOT enjoying the beauty of nature… signs of depression. Yup, It feels that way sometimes… when nature gives no release, just a reminder of the heaviness inside. Well done!

    Reply

  5. Emmanuel Ibok
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 22:20:33

    The words were visual and nicely selected…nice work.

    cheers!

    Reply

  6. LoLa
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 00:44:47

    Thanks everyone for your nice words.

    Reply

  7. thoughtsnotlost
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 07:12:20

    Love the images in this poem!

    Reply

  8. ladynimue
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 13:23:27

    rarely do i see a rain poem that is sad ! and this was beyond the beauty of all !! Loved it too much 🙂

    Reply

  9. Rashmi
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 07:03:30

    You have beautifully captured the rain which falls on the leaves and all that happened around you at that particular moment..

    “Standing vigilant and unaware
    I remain”
    Shows how you were carried away..
    Very beautiful poem.

    Reply

  10. chamiechamz
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 07:13:57

    rain reminds me of sad memories. Glad that i’m not alone with this thought. love your poem dear. 😉

    Reply

  11. kyoichi
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 18:39:16

    i’m one who never really enjoyed the melancholy brought about by the rain. and physically, the rain is not very entertaining when your soaked through and shivering in the metro.

    and i like this. the leaf can be anything falling with the weight of the rain.

    good job =]

    -kyogakura

    Reply

  12. Keshav Ram Narla
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 00:26:30

    I wonder why all women love the rain and standing underneath it..

    You said it well

    But rain reminds me of happy things. That’s monsoon for me

    Reply

    • LoLa
      Oct 23, 2010 @ 05:55:52

      I do love to stand in the rain. It’s never a big deal for woman who don’t care about their hair. Go to Texas and those woman would be freaking out. LOL
      I usually love the rain too. I love how it washes the earth and changes the smell of everything. But, that day, I wasn’t feeling it. Thanks for you comment.
      LoLa

      Reply

  13. Jingle
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 07:19:54

    http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/agreement-4-thursday-poets-rally-week-31/

    please place your entry poem under the link above by commenting, let me know after reading the agreement, basically trying to make things work, stay positive, and …
    thanks for the email.

    click on the link above to read,
    let me know if you need further assistance.
    cheers!

    Reply

  14. boababpapers
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 11:22:40

    a gentle write…

    Reply

  15. Ms. Peaches
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 13:17:32

    very well written poem…the rain never makes me happy…here from Jingles

    http://peachpitproduction.wordpress.com/2010/10/22/7deadlysins/

    Reply

  16. julielaing
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 15:47:56

    I’m glad you enjoyed my rally entry! I liked what you did with this piece, in particular the parallel of the spilling rain in the opening and the falling leaves in the closing. I’ve been focusing on punctuating my pieces lately, and I wonder if you gave much thought to that with this piece. The scheme in the beginning works well: Initial cap for each sentence but no punctuation marks; I’d carry that through to the end.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan