A Little Something

I would rather have a little something than nothing at all
A simple little pleasure before I take  the fall
Something is better than nothing when Angels come to call
I would tell them I had something, I didn’t live small.

I would rather be a little something than nothing at all
Be able to not only stand, but stand up tall
Knowing that when the time comes I will have to fall
Then I would just climb back up the wall.

I would rather see a little something than nothing at all
To say, “I went to Italy” and not just the mall
Go to china and walk the great wall
Get out of the house, do anything, get on the ball.

I would rather feel a little something than nothing at all
trying to really live my life now, enough with the stall
I know I must learn to walk after I learn to crawl
Living for nothing is something and it won’t do at all.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hindawy
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 00:54:12

    Reply

  2. Life: Between the lines
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 18:14:43

    I LIKE LIKE LIKE IT! SWEET oops, sorry for shouting 🙂
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 03:51:10

    Totally agree with your sentiment here! Your poem flows along beautifully. well written.

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/ice-cream/

    Reply

  4. Jingle
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 15:23:56

    Simply BEAUTIFUL!

    A+
    Thanks for linking.

    Reply

  5. Olivia
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 22:20:11

    Amen..!!
    I wish as much! Just that “little” much.. 😀

    Hugs xx

    Reply

  6. fiveloaf
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 22:26:04

    rhyming on all verses are hard to do yet you executed it with such ease.. thank you for sharing.. here’s my potluck..
    http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/03/12/broken-home/

    Reply

  7. bendedspoon
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 06:21:22

    your poem is something big! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Jingle
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 09:11:29

    agree,

    love your take on life,
    Cheers,

    A++

    Reply

  9. Rhyme Me a Smile
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 09:08:51

    FABULOUS!!! I love the rhythm and completely concur with the sentiment. Live it up! 🙂

    My Potluck Poem: Mood Rings of the Future

    Reply

  10. Jamie Dedes, all rights reserved
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 20:46:44

    Bravo! Well-written. They rhyming scheme works here well, gives strength to the message … which is a fine one. A Perfect Potluck Poem to offer. Thank you!

    Mine is here:
    http://musingbymoonlight.com/2011/02/06/love-grown-wild-2/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan