My Rules

You can say you don’t understand
Digging your heals in the sand

It’s the why and the what that you need
It’s the rules that I have, don’t you see

It’s not about you but the lessons I’ve learned
It’s a love and trust that has to be earned

This is not a game or a power trip, if you will
It’s about a long life worth living, that’s the deal

I’ll roll with the punches, I’ll sit back for the ride
But, by my own rules, I have to abide

Rules I have designed to fit with my needs
from the lessons I’ve learned, by the pain I have seen

Not meant to punish, but to protect my sweet heart
remembering their purpose can be hard at the start

I try very hard to keep them in the back of my mind
But, I sometimes forget and It’s only pain that I find

Don’t take it personally, It’s not about you
We all have our shields and this is one too

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 36 (December 29, 2010-January 5, 2011) | Jingle
  2. Jingle
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 19:51:20

    you can say you don’t understand
    Digging your heals in the sand..

    love the rhymes, it is not personal, that’s cool sentiments expressed here.
    well done!

    have fun!

    Reply

  3. fiveloaf
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 23:03:28

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 02:54:36

    Has a wonderful rhyme flow!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 36 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  6. Bodhirose
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 09:58:26

    I loved this, Lola–good for you! Yes, we all have our rules and boundaries that we’re comfortable with.

    Reply

  7. Jamie Dedes, all rights reserved
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 10:32:01

    This is excellent: an honest poem and well done.

    Happy Rally days ….

    Best wishes for 2011.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Soaring Talents in Poetry Rally Week 36: You Got 2 check Them Out! | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  9. Purvi
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 12:47:04

    Reply

  10. llyn
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 14:47:16

    Succinct.

    Reply

  11. LoLa
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 18:23:24

    Thank you everybody for your kind words. I appreciate you all takeing the time to read my poetry.
    LoLa

    Reply

  12. kolembo
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 05:08:16

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan