Goodbye To My Love

I said good-bye to my love tonight
I said good-bye with a hug so tight

I will always love him I will always care
I will always worship all the things we shared

I have known him almost half my life
I was his friend, his lover and then his wife

He was all my eyes could see for so long
I thought I would die with him, I was wrong

I said goodbye to my love tonight
I tried not to hurt him with all of my might

We talked together, we argued, we cried
when we were done it felt like someone died

My chest was so waited from forgetting to breath
All my  joys were deflated, I just felt empty

I wished I could fall back in love with him
I wished  for what we used to have again

My love for him died slowly, breaking off in little bits
neither of us even noticed until I called it quits

I said goodbye to my love tonight
There was no meanness, anger or spite

He told me I was wrong, he told me we were amazing
The pain went on so long, not one bit of it escaped me

I watched him drive away and wondered where he’d go
I wished for him some  peace from all his pain and sorrow

He will always know what he means to me
He will always be apart of my family

I said goodbye to my love tonight

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jingle
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 16:59:49

    well expressed,

    a good bye is hard to take, but it is essential for both to learn and grow..

    Happy Rally.

    Reply

  2. mindlovemisery
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 01:01:23

    *hugs* this is so heart-breaking and touching. It was definitely the right choice if your not in love anymore but its such a hard choice to make. You’re very brave

    Reply

  3. Janice MacLeod
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 09:49:43

    Yeah. Sometimes love does that. Breaks off in little bits. Then one pretty minor thing happens and the last bit of love blows off in the wind like the last petal on the daisy. Love me not.

    Your poem had a slew of emotion. Nice stuff.

    Reply

  4. Jeanie McBain
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 06:53:12

    Touching and enjoyable

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan