Releasing the Bird

He’ll never say the things I so wish him to say
He’ll never tell, if my leaving caused him pain

But, he left me.  That, I can’t forget
Left the cage door open, no longer his pet

“Spread your wings and fly my love. Be well”
That’s the end, there’s nothing else to tell

His void is felt deep within
I miss his smell on my skin

No way of knowing if he misses me
All I know, is he set me free

And as far as I fly and as I high as I go
my heart will surely miss him so

He opened my eyes to something new
to something in me I never knew

He started the fire, he blew on my flame
He called me his baby each time that I came

He showed me a life that I know I deserve
But his was on loan, all rights “reserved”

I know what I want now, I know what I need
I will no longer beg for it, no longer plead

This birds been released and it’s bound to explore
Never to settle for the life lived before

But know this my love, in my heart you will stay
And I will think of you less with each passing day

I will miss you  immensely  this I already do
But, it was time to let me go, you already knew.

I love you sweet man and I hope you love me
I’ll be back some day and I hope you’ll be ready.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Noiseless Cuckooclock
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 12:54:10

    passionate words.
    beautiful flow.

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Marbles in My Pocket
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 15:23:32

    A beautiful write, LoLa! Lots of emotion.
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/12/04/then-snared/

    Reply

  3. Mihir Vatsa
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 17:01:54

    Exactly the post-breakup emotion. Nice to read though. Optimism. 🙂

    Reply

  4. tinkwelborn
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 18:54:29

    nice metaphor, bird, used and releasing/freeing — this is the rationalized reconciliation that optimism uses for a ladder, to ascend from that base despair, heartbreak. lovely rhyme and rhythm here.
    good piece, job well done.

    Reply

    • LoLa
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:24:21

      Thank you very much Tink
      I have lost all optimisim for any future with this man at this point but. I think just saying that is in itself Optimistic.
      🙂

      Reply

  5. Morning
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 18:58:07

    a war has to have two companies,

    what a powerful fire at the troubled relationship.
    well done.

    Happy Poetry Picnic.
    🙂

    Reply

  6. Mr. Watson
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 19:18:43

    Great write ! Powerful indeed !

    For when he comes to his senses….:-)
    http://mrwatson215.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/almost-had-me-2/

    Reply

    • LoLa
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:16:12

      Mr Watson.
      Thank you for your nice comment. He never came to his senses. But, What can I say, maybe that was a good thing.
      LoLa

      Reply

  7. Kay Salady
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:55:06

    This poem was so empowering to read until I got to the last two stanzas. So often we let go of the chains that hold us down only to pick them up again. But that is what makes us human, and that is how the story goes. Beautiful written, LoLa! xoXox

    Reply

  8. Janaki Nagaraj
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 02:35:53

    Touching and beautiful.

    Reply

  9. projectwords11
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 09:40:18

    Moving, tender…beautiful

    Reply

  10. halfwaybetweenthegutter
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 18:15:22

    I remember feeling like this; it does pass. It really does. Your poem captures the raw emotions so well.

    Reply

  11. caridwen
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 02:15:46

    Very human response to sorrow. Thank you for sharing with us!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan