Healing Seasons

Break the bond between us
Be steadfast in your pursuit to forget me
Why you left no one could guess
All they knew was the pain they could see

You took your leave so long ago
the leaves were all starting to turn
Why you left that time I would never know
My fire for you still burned

Devastated I waited for your return
I hoped each night for your sudden arrival
The wind picked up and the fallen leaves churn
The season sucked up all hope for our survival

Winter saw its last cool breath
frost covered all my window seals
I treated our love like a pathetic death
I had to, if I was to ever heal

Spring flowers rose, rains washed the pain away
I could no longer mourn for you
It was time to start a new day
I set off with a list of things to do

I washed all your scent away
I swept up all that was left of you
I got rid of all the things you stained
It was a big spring cleaning I had to do

It felt better when you were gone
All the small things I was changing too
Suddenly nothing about your departure felt wrong
I am almost over you

Summer came and with it the sun
The heat got me outside to breath
I was able to focus, get stuff done
I sat and looked at the trees and leaves

It’s been all of a year and I can finally say
Without any regrets at all
I don’t think of you with each passing day
I haven’t missed you since the fall

You took a part of me, my power
You tried to take my spirit too
All traces of you died with the flowers
By the fall I was onto something new

It’s taken a year to heal from you
It’s been a challenge as well
I now focus on something new
I am finally out from under your spell

Take the time for yourself
Enjoy the seasons too
Now that I am somebody else
I have no  interest in you

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlesmashburn
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 17:59:59

    You told the story of healing quite well.

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/night-rules/

    Reply

  2. Taylor
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 18:00:31

    no interest in you,

    sad, glad to see you share.

    Reply

  3. Hema
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 04:14:40

    Glad the healing is done. You have blended the seasons so well 🙂

    Reply

  4. ~L
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 19:30:15

    so powerful and brave… bold and filled with heart… you are beautiful soul!
    ~L

    Reply

  5. halfwaybetweenthegutter
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 09:50:41

    I could have written this myself, about my own situation. Stunning.

    http://halfwaybetweenthegutter.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/painfully-breaking/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan