Johnny You Bum

Johnny you Bum I loved you so
I would have followed you out the classroom door
All those many moons ago

I’ve loved the times we’ve had
The hours of conversations we’ve shared
All the nights I stayed with you in your pad

Wine-Barrel Hot tubs, Turn-about and parents
Mr. Stevenson for Geography
I had no idea what I was learning with him

Cruising San Francisco with the sunroof open
Trying to make a pipe from a kit-kat wrapper
“Big Girls Don’t cry” sang the homeless woman

Johnny you Bum, you always leave me behind
As you travel all over with your love
Coming home only to taste the wine

Let’s chain smoke through the south
While counting all the churches
You’ll sleep on the floor and I’ll sleep on the couch

Let’s see how many hotel rooms we can see
While clubbing our way around Memphis
Yes, I’ll have my eggs cooked over-easy

Here’s to the sights we’ve seen
The paddle boats, sky scrapers
All the Gay bars in every city

You are the bum Johnny, so funny and clever
You seem to drag me along with you everywhere
Even with Your love, paddling us down the river

I’m sure you’ll forget about me like you did before
Cussing you out in front of hundreds of rednecks
Or as the Taxi pulls me up to your New York door

We have seen it all, you and me
Monuments to our dead, full Rainbows
Cross-Dressing Bitches and Bourbon Street

Throughout all the years, and all the years to come
I will keep following you across the sea
Just keep inviting me, Johnny you Bum!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. crys
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 17:41:59

    Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan