Maui – I’m on my way #1

This will be, I hope, the first of many of the Maui Diaries. Right now I am in the airport surrounded by a number of excited and happy people. Families and groups of ladies all joyfully chattering in different languages, as they anxiously wait for the gate doors to open and for the journey to begin. Everyone is decked out in their Hawaiian garb, sporting every type of tropical flower in every bright or vibrant color. People are wearing straw hats and flip-flops already, even though it is only 55 degrees outside right now.

I think I’m the only one here who is about to spend a number of days by myself on a tropical island. I know that I have a home to stay at, with a ocean view. I know that I will have access to a safe car and internet. I am being picked up from the airport and dropped off at my vacation home, so, I have no reason to be concerned. Other than that I have NO IDEA what to expect. I have some work to do. I have some books to read. I have an art project to work on and I have my blog. Other than that, what becomes of this trip is 100% dependent on me.

I am hoping to have some true self-reflection time. I’m hoping to be able to learn something about myself and grow. It has been such a hard couple of years. I have been living out of a suitcase for 2 years now and I am exhausted. I feel so lost so quickly when things go wrong because, essentially, I am. I have not had a place to call my home for so long, that when any little thing rocks my existence, I start to feel completely unsteady. My goal is to have a life changing trip, and to come home with a new perspective on things.

I don’t want to stress anymore about the little things. I want to be able to let the unknown variables of life roll off my chest without causing me fear or an anxiety attack. I want to be able to retain the lessons I learn this weekend for the rest of my life. I don’t want to forget about them and go back to the old me that can’t sleep at night worrying about money. I am also hoping to learn to enjoy every moment. Appreciate each second for exactly what it is. I don’t want to just be focused on what I need to be doing or what I should be doing. Like right now, I want to be one of these happy travelers joyfully waiting for the flight attendant to call early boarding. I guess we will see.

It’s just another day in LoLa-Land.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Your wife
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 08:59:52

    The ultimate healing place…and if you think the sunset is beautiful, go check out the sunrise. I’m so envious!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan