Fear – Maui Diary #6

I’ve been scared a lot this trip. I was scared to snorkel at first because I was worried about getting scratched by the coral. I was scared to just get in the car and drive because what if I got lost? I was scared to walk a particular beach alone because of a big group of male locals. Now I am scared to go swimming in deep waters to try and find dolphins, because what if there are sharks?

I live in fear a lot. What if I won’t have enough money? What if I get hurt? What if I fail? What if it all doesn’t work out? What if something goes wrong? What if….? I wonder where this fear comes from? Some say it’s learned behavior, that we get from our parents. Some say it’s part of our genetic make up and comes from our ancestors. Some say it’s learned through our life experiences.

No matter how you look at fear or where it may come from, It gets in the way of life. It’s like worrying, it’s like trying to cross a bridge before you get to it. It’s a waste of time and energy and can also be debilitating. How many of us have NOT done something because we were scared and then regretted it? I never tried out for the solo I wanted to do in my high-school choir and always regretted it. What’s that old saying, ” I regret more the things I didn’t do, then the things I did”.

We are subjected to living in fear all the time. The news is based in fear. They want you to be scared, they want you in your homes watching their show, fear sells. We can’t help ourselves, it’s like when you pass an accident on the road, do you look away or do you try to see as much wreckage as possible? Is it the drama in fear that we are attracted too?

Our abilities are limitless and are lives can be full of abundance, if we just put out in the universe what we want. All we have to do is visualize what we want, not fear the outcome or the process, and take the steps towards facilitating those wants, to make it true. Yet for the most part we visualize and think about our worries and fears. We watch in fear, scary things and worry it will happen to us.

How can we as a society break this pattern? Because if you contribute to the belief of “what you put out there is what will come to you or rather the Law of attraction”. Then society as a hole is attracting the negative. Watching true stories of pain and violence daily on the news and then sitting around fearing it may happen to you, could be bringing that negativity your way.

I didn’t scratch myself on the coral, I swam with sea turtles. I didn’t get lost, instead I saw a beautiful sunset. I didn’t get attacked at the beach, I saw a rainbow and a hot naked man. And to backtrack a bit, I found out shortly after the choir concert was over, that my instructor had envisioned my voice for that solo, all I had to do was try out and it would have been mine. So, I’m going to go deep sea snorkeling today and I may or may not see dolphins. But, I’ll bet you ten to one I’ll be glad I went.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 14:18:42

    You’re on your way! Keep looking ahead, your heart-feet already know the way,

    Reply

  2. Poets Rally at Hyde Park
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:34:14

    blessings..glad to see you write to let out pressure or stress or to impress.

    Hello, how are you today?
    Thanks for being part of Thursday Poets Rally and hope to see you continued support …your input is valued…
    We are giving you the perfect poet award for week 71 today, enjoy!
    If you take it, please nominate another poet in your poem post, and leave your acceptance link under our award post, thank you in advance!
    Happy End of August! Have A Grand September Ahead!

    Cheers!

    it has been a pleasure to have you shine like a star around us… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan