Why Sing Alone?

Tonight I did something I haven’t done in over 20 years. Today I sang in a chorus and poorly I might add. The group has been singing together for years and are only four weeks away from a show. They are all pretty well versed in their sound and their music… I was so lost.

Never before have I been involved with such a large chorus of just woman. The chorus I belonged to in college was both men and woman and we were about the same size in members. The college choral group has always been the best group I’ve ever been in. (Of course it’s easy to sound amazing when you have opera singers in your choir with you.)
When listening to this chorus I missed the depth that the men’s base tone can being to the harmony of a song.

They also do choreography and props. I’ve never danced while I sang for a audience. It was, “always wear the same clothes and stand still. Pay attention to the director and don’t pass out of heat exhaustion, from being under those hot lights”. It looks fun, but at the same time, feels so cheesy to me; but who am I to judge.

At several times during the night I had 80 woman singing directly to me. Performing their soon to be ready show that they so urgently were selling tickets to. Normally I think people would be uncomfortable in this situation, having 80 sets of eyes staring directly at you while they sang their hearts out, it’s a lot to take in. But, I just smiled and kept my eyes moving, wandering from face to face.

I was handed a book of their songs and told to get on the risers and sing about an hour into the practice. I had already sang for a placement woman who deemed me a baritone, which I think is first alto, when you have a male/ female group. Can I tell you how bad I was? It was not pretty. I have lost significant hearing in my right ear and I’ve always learned my parts by sound. I was all over the map tonight and I was trying so hard not to effect the other singers.

It took me back though, it was 3rd grade suddenly. I remember being 8 years old and taking the long walk to the music teachers office. So scared she was going to make me do something painful, like sing in front of her! I took a huge breath when I walked inside and was horrified to see a bunch of kids I knew all lined up to try out. I was mortified as I watched each kid sing twinkle twinkle little star. When it was my turn I was petrified and I sang it so softly she had to lean in towards me just to hear me. That feeling of “oh my god get me the fuck out of here” was just way to familiar tonight. But, familiar in a good way. I forgot how much I love to sing. But, damn I love to sing even more when I really, really know my stuff.

Now all I have to do is try out. I have to sing “oh Danny Boy”. OY!

Just another day in LoLa-Land

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan