More Punk!

As usual it was another crazy weekend last weekend. Between the bowling, drinking, birthday parties, wedding showers and amazing meals, I also did a impromptu singing audition for a local garage band.

My friend asked me if I would be interested in possibly being the singer in his punk band. I’ve always wanted to be in a band, but; punk? We went to his studio and he put me in front of a microphone and gave me a page of lyrics ( just lyrics). He put the cd of the song on and said ” sing”.
I was kind of horrified and so thankful, he was the only other person there, because I had no idea what to do. I tried to explain to him, ” you have to let me hear the song a few times. Or give me some music notes. I have no idea what the timing is? I can’t just start singing with just words to go by”.

“It’s punk LoLa. You just sing it” he replied almost annoyed.

Exasperated, I listened to the song and started to hum along. He played the guitar almost from the moment we walked in the room. And kept playing while we listened to the song once, then we stared again and this time I tried to sing. When I was done he said, ” ok, ok I mean, you can sing. But, we need you to be more punk! You have to be… Rougher”.
I laughed, All I’m thinking is, I don’t even listen to punk.
“I don’t know if I can be a punk star. I’m don’t really think PUNK is in me, I mean I wear ruffles and pink. ” I said to him

He looked at me sideways for a minute and said, ” ok maybe you should do harmony then”. He pauses his playing for the first time and says, ” do you have any black leather pants?”
“really man! ?” I screeched which came out almost as a yell, because I was still next to the microphone, “have you seen my angry thighs? They eat leather pants for dinner!”

I’m not sure this being in a punk band is such a good fit for me? I haven’t even begun to think about how I would get over the stage fright enough not to SUCK! But, I do know this, I really, really liked having the microphone in my hands, I need to think about that. I have always wanted to be in a band and I’m not getting any younger. But, I am also trying to maintain my, “Fuck it I’m forty” way of being and joining a punk band fits that ideology perfectly.

Just another day for LoLa-Land

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan