Now?

She couldn’t figure out why he was asking her where she was dancing that night. She hadn’t seen him in three years, she hadn’t kissed him in  four.  She was tempted not to tell him where she was because, what the hell does he need to know for?  But, curiosity got the better of her, and she told him. 

“I’ll see you soon!” He responded.  As She thought to herself, “I hope he’s kidding!”

It wasn’t much longer before she saw him at the end of the dance floor by the entrance watching her.  “FUCK!!  What does he want Now!” Was all that came to mind as she looked over her other shoulder to see if her husband was still holding court with his dudes, and he was. 

She put her finger up to her ex lover to motion that she would be a moment and walked over to her husband to grab her purse. 

“I’m going to have a smoke” she said “I’ll be right back.”

Her husband looked up at her and nodded a response that he had heard her. He is a man of few words. 

She pivoted and walked towards the door, motioning to her ex to folllow her. Once outside she asked the inevitable question, “what are you doing here?”

“I love you!” He said

“WHAT!” She almost shrieked. 

“I know it’s been awhile and I know we’ve been through a lot and I’m sorry I didn’t realize it before Now, but I love you and I want you back. Your my soul mate ” he replied calmly. 

She took a very long drag of her smoke and glared at him.  Torn by her emotions of being flattered that this man she longed for, for a decade would finally admit his ignorance and love. But, this was also the  man that she had done everything for, cook, clean, laundry, bringing him lunch and coffees. This was the man who would put her looks and clothes down. This was also the man who was so cheap he made her pay for half of everything and would comment on the costs of the meals she purchased.  This man was the man that broke her heart? 

She finally spoke, “Now! You say these things to me NOW?! I’m married. I’ve been married for years! I was alone for a year after you broke my heart! I cried over you that entire year and you never came!  When we were together  you never treated me right. You cared more about what you collected then me.  Your houses, your cars, your jobs. All you wanted me for was to be just another  collectible.  You put me up on the shelf and took me down only when you needed the eye candy on your arm. It’s too little, too late. I’m gone Now and I’ve been gone for years.”  

With that she turned on her heel and left.  Feeling almost sorry for him. If he truly feels she is his soul mate then he is destined to walk the rest of his life alone. Because there is no question in her mind that she was with the right man, now. 

 

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan