The Art of Being Alone (and not wanting to kill yourself)

The universe is speaking to me loud and clear. I am supposed to be alone right now.  Apparently, I am to be spending time getting to know myself better.  All the men I liked are gone. All of my friends are dating someone else, my nieces and nephews are growing up.  And the men left online still looking for love ( or sex), flare no intertst in me what so ever. 

I’m not scared by this thought of being alone, but I am scared of what that means for my psyche.  I am all to familiar with what happens to me When I spend too much time alone.  I’m an extrovert by nature. I thrive on human contact. I love getting to know new people. I think that is why I like being single and dating; Because, I can get to know a number of different people easily. 

So, how does one go about being successfully alone? Do I stop talking to people? Do I not reach out to anyone? Do I just wait for people to come to me and if they do, do I open the door? But, is isolation the key to getting to know oneself better?  Especially, when meeting new people, Is how I learn more about myself.   I like to see how I respond to peope and to what they have told me. Afterwards when I’m alone I rethink (sometimes ) entire conversations, I then judge myself and the reactions I did or didn’t have,  to their comments and try to figure out why I felt the way I did. 

How do I process silence? How do I ascertain, how I feel about my reactions, when there’s nothing to react to ? 

Uncharted territory ahead in LoLa-Land 

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan