Money Woes

It all seems to come down to money. Money seems to be the theme for the month… Okay maybe years. I work with money all day and I can never personally seem to have enough money.  But, there have been some odd situations around friends and money that have been happening lately that makes me pause and wonder what the lesson in it all is? 

A young hearted friend of mine was just recently burned by a friend because she loaned this friend of hers money. The woman stopped talking to my friend as soon as she gave her the money.  This total abandonment (if you will) has left my dear friend completely upset and feeling very taken advantage of.  I don’t blame her for feeling that way either. She has never been “screwed” by a friend this way and as much as, I want to fix it for her she also needs to know that these things happen. She needs to know that,

People will use you for money. 
I have another friend who has recently started seeing someone who has a very rich daddy. Daddy pays for everything.  Daddy likes my friend and wants his child to Marry my friend, so; he will pay for everything all the time for both of them.  Both of them have solid degrees and good jobs. Both are strong and smart and yet they take daddy’s money.  I don’t get this? Why? Why are you still taking daddy’s money? I have found the admiration I had for my friend diminishing because of the   willing acceptance of daddy’s gifts.  But, even though I am irritated, it seems daddy is not.  It almost feels as though daddy is going out of his way to make my friend completely enchanted with their family and his child. It is almost like he is buying my friends love. 

People will use money to buy you. 
I’m personally always aware of the money issues with regards to dating. I have had a lot of awkward conversation with men I’m with about who is paying. It’s always such a turn on when a man just says, “I got this because I am old school”. It’s so nice not to feel like your doing something wrong because you went somewhere to eat.   I’ve had issues with friends and the whole, “let’s split the bill in half” and their portion of the bill is far more than half. Do you say something, or do you suck it up and split the bill? 

Money can destroy relationships. 

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan