Power of Touch

Every time I go see a friend in the hospital all I want to do is get into bed with them. When crystal was in the hospital I wanted to lay next to her so bad but she had tubes coming out of her everywhere and I didn’t want to stop anything from working.  Also, as close as we are, we have never been real touchy feely with one another. So, I wasn’t sure how she would feel with me laying next to her. 

When my friends mom was recently in the hospital dying of cancer.  I kept sitting on her bed rather then on one of the chairs next to her; because, the  chairs made it hard for me to touch her. I needed to touch her the entire time I was with her. She didn’t mind. She would curl up her leg to make room for me.  She reached out for my hand during our last visit where she was still cognitive.  

Now Managment is in the hospital again and all I want is to be in the bed with him.  I know he likes it because he makes room for me and then motions for me to climb in. I feel entirely too far away from him when I am just sitting on the chair next to him. I want my feet on his and my head on his shoulder and my hand protecting his heart.  

It all makes perfect sense to me. We all need human contact and I don’t think we get enough of it.  Hospitals have the “baby holders”, older people who come in and volunteer their time by holding the sick babies (when they can). Because research has proven that babies who are held or have human contact, while in traumatic states, heal faster then those who are left untouched.  

I would suspect the same to be true at any age.  Nothing is better then love when it comes to healing ourselves, right?Knowing that we aren’t alone. Knowing that we are still lovable enough to be touched. Feeling the energy that another person exudes. These are important things when we feel broken and vulnerable. I know when I’m very sick. I usually don’t want company because I’m embarrassed. But, when a loved one does something so simple as rub my neck or sets a cold towel on my forehead, I feel better instantly. I think touch is so important because it’s more then what we see or feel on a physical level. More than we can even comprehend.  But, all we really need to know is, it has healing powers. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jdwiesch
    Jul 12, 2016 @ 22:57:19

    Your visits are the most looked forward to, and the most healing. Thank you

    Reply

  2. Little Droplets
    Nov 13, 2016 @ 22:00:44

    That was a beautiful read. More people should be effectionate becauae as you say, touch is very healing. Loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coloring Project – The Frog

Frog

2010 Summer Reading List

Sookie Stackhouse, the complete stories A touch of Dead
Finger Prints & Facelifts
His First Wife, Gracce Octavia
The promise of happiness, Justin Cratwright
Silk & Shadows
Wifey
The Honey Thief
The marriage
Ya ya Sisterhood book # 3
The Other Boleyn Girl
Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher
3 book flower series by Nora Roberts
The Kept woman
Twlight book # 4
twlight book #3

Coloring Project – The Swan